Summer 2014

By the time you lovely readers see this, I will be in South Carolina on the third full day of my vacation! I’m getting excited just typing this! Summer is always an exciting time it seems, with school out and vacations galore! I wanted to make a post for you guys telling you what I’ll be up to this first week of summer break.

First thing’s first, I am leaving for vacation the 9th of May and will be gone until the 17th. My family, my boyfriend, and I will be spending the week at Garden City Beach, SC. Many people haven’t heard of this little beach, but I guarantee that you know where it is. Garden city is just 17 minutes away from Myrtle Beach, SC. I prefer vacationing in the quieter, less crowded town of Garden City, but it’s still close enough to be able to enjoy all of the attractions and shopping in the Myrtle Beach area.

So here’s a fun fact: this will only be my third time to the beach…ever! For a lot of people, a beach trip is the “typical” summer family vacation, but my family usually vacationed in the mountains of Tennessee or North Carolina. Honestly, that’s probably a big factor into why I chose my major of wildlife and fisheries management; I  love being in National Parks and out enjoying the best that nature has to offer.

Some of the beautiful architecture for which Charleston is known.

Back on track, though, this year our beach trip will also contain an integrated mini-
vacation. We’ll be leaving the beach on Monday for a day trip to Charleston, SC. It’s like inception, but with vacations. That’s pretty amazing. Aside from our day trip to Charleston, we also have a ton of other fun things planned for our trip this year. One of the attractions I anticipate most when we go to the beach is Brookgreen Gardens. This attraction is a 15 square mile stretch of public gardens interspersed with farmland, a plantation home, and hand carved sculptures, created by the original owners. It’s absolutely amazing to visit and since it’s only a short drive from Myrtle Beach, I would definitely recommend anyone that plans on staying in the area this summer to go and visit. It’s truly a hidden gem.

A view of Broadway at the Beach

Another attraction that many of you probably know about (if you have visited the Myrtle Beach area before) is Broadway at the beach. This is like a paradise of shopping, attractions, and food. To those of you who aren’t familiar with this place, it’s almost like an outdoor mall complete with a Hard Rock Cafe, a Senor Frog’s, a carnival, and Ripley’s aquarium (and that isn’t even the half of it). The first time I went there, it was almost surreal. It seemed so strange to have so many attractions, shops, and restaurants in one area, but it certainly works. Visiting Broadway at the beach is always a highlight of our trips to the beach.

This year, we’re also doing something a little different while at the beach. We’ll be going to one of those HUGE all-you-can-eat seafood buffets. The reason this is different than usual is because we typically go to a local fish market while we’re there and buy some fresh seafood and cook it ourselves at the beach house, but this year we wanted to give one of the buffets a try. We’ve heard nothing but great things about them, and my family and I are huge fans of seafood, so I’m guessing we’ll love it!

I can’t wait to spend some time in the sun and sand with some of my favorite people! What are your plans for summer vacation? Are you going to the beach, somewhere else, or are you having a staycation? Let me know in the comments below! I can’t wait to write a post about all the fun adventures I had while on vacation! Until then, follow my blog if you aren’t already, and I’ll see you for the next update on my ‘wild’life!

Leave a Reply

