My Weekend

Last weekend I attended two amazing events in a row, Winter Jam and Repticon. I had a blast at both of them and I can’t wait to tell you more.

Lecrae at Passion 2013

I’ll start with Winter Jam. It’s a yearly concert tour that includes some of the biggest names in nearly every genre of Christian music. Last year was my first time attending, and I was even more ecstatic about going this year. The “headlining” artist this year was Lecrae, a Christian rap artist. I had seen him once before at the 2013 Passion conference in Atlanta–which was quite possibly the epitome of my life–so naturally, I was excited to see him in concert again. The best part is that the concert is in Knoxville which is only about an hour from campus!

Another amazing thing about attending Winter Jam was that I got to bring my mom. For many, a mother may not seem like the ideal concert buddy, but my mom is my best friend and she loves Christian music, and we had a great time together. It was awesome to be able to let loose and praise God with a woman that I hold so dear to my heart. The rest of my college ministry, my mom, and I got early entry into the Thomson-Bowling arena because we bought early entry tickets, and got to have a private Q & A session with some of the artists before the show. As you could imagine, this was one of the highlights of the concert. I was totally star-struck.

The next event I went to was Repticon. Honestly, I would have never known about this one had it not been for my blogging director. Luckily, she happened upon a Groupon for tickets to the convention, and asked if I knew about it. Within two days of her telling me, I had already bought the tickets and convinced both my parents and my boyfriend to come with me.

Repticon Reptile & Exotic Animal Shows

You’re probably still wondering what Repticon even is. Well, basically, it’s a reptile convention –a huge one, in Knoxville. Being a wildlife major, it was right down my alley and I was stoked to go! It was so incredible! I walked in and I was like a kid in a candy story, if the candy were reptiles, that is. There were so many friendly vendors that told me all about their reptiles. Much to my surprise, there were even several mammals there as well. Here is a vlog of my experience!

All-in-all, my weekend was great. It was nice to able to go home and spend some time with my family and go to some really fun events. I even vlogged some of it, which was pretty fun as well.

I hope you all enjoyed this post. Did any of you attend Winter Jam? Have you ever been to a huge convention like Repticon? If so, I would love to hear from you in the comments below. As always, follow my blog for more update on my ‘wild’life!

Leave a Reply

