Winter Break

My winter break has officially started! And I’m going to get up ridiculously early tomorrow to visit family. (X Happy holidays you all! Hope to draw over break, but my computer access might be limited~It’s hard to believe that break is over and classes have already started! That is, after an extra two days off thanks to the snow!! Although I was eager for school to start back, I am also very grateful that we had our recent winter break. I was glad to have some time to relax my brain and spend some much needed time with my family. It’s always a joy to go back home and be with your loved ones. The slower pace and lack of homework are greatly appreciated by all, not to mention the home-cooked meals.  For this post I wanted to tell you guys how I spent my break.

The Christmas tree at my grandma’s house

Very soon after the break began it was Christmas time! Christmas is one of my absolute favorite holidays. I’m sure many of you would agree with me. I’m always so excited to celebrate the birth of my Savior. I started celebrating Christmas before break even began, in my dorm at LMU. I put up a small Christmas tree and decorated my window with lights. It was the perfect motivation to study hard for finals because break would follow soon after. The weeks leading up to Christmas at home were great! My sister came and spent the weekend with us the Saturday I got back. I was so happy to see her! Before we knew it, we were heading to my grandmother’s house for Christmas dinner and unwrapping gifts! It was a really good time for everyone and we had some great fellowship with my extended family. Fortunately for me, I got to celebrate two Christmases this year. My boyfriend spent Christmas day with his family, so we weren’t able to exchange gifts until the weekend after. It was like an extension of the spirit of the holiday, and it was a great treat!

My boyfriend and me on New Year’s Eve

My boyfriend actually stayed through New Year’s Day, which was fun! A new year always excites me! It gives me the opportunity to look back on my year, cherishing memories and learning from mistakes. For many people, this is a time of resolutions. I have never really been one to make resolutions, but this year I decided to shake it up. My resolution for the 2014 year is to be healthier (stereotypical, right?). I think of healthy in a different way than most, though. In addition to attempting a more healthy lifestyle, I want my mind to be healthier this year.

The first thing that I plan to do to achieve this goal is to limit the amount of time I spend on social media. Granted, I will still continue blogging, no worries there. I do plan to delete my twitter account. By limiting the time I spend using social media, I will be left with a larger portion of time to do other things. I plan on spending more time outside walking, running, or simply taking in nature as a whole. I believe that this will help me have an overall more positive demeanor. I’m certainly not meaning to criticize social media in any way, I just know that I am much happier when I spend time outdoors rather than on a computer. Hopefully I can stick to this goal and remain dedicated to it.

Before, between, and after the holidays I spent my time relaxing watching movies, catching up on my reading, and even redecorating my family’s living room (yes, that’s relaxing to me). As many of you know, I am a huge Disney fan, and I was beyond excited to see the new movie Frozen. Needless to say, I absolutely loved it. I recommend that anyone who enjoys Disney/animated movies to see it. The story line was great, the animation was lovely, and the music was fantastic.

As relaxing as break was, I am very excited to be back at school. I’ve missed my friends, and the studious nature of school. I missed learning new things and getting closer to earning my degree. I was so excited to get back to school while I was at home that I passed some time making a color-coded class schedule. In fact, it’s a little tradition of mine. I just enjoy being as organized as possible.

I’m excited for my upcoming classes. They include ornithology, biometry (a mixture of biology and math), physical geography, and wildlife law enforcement! Some of these subjects I’m familiar with, while others are completely new to me. It will be so exciting to learn all about them! I also missed the campus, and can’t wait to get back into the swing of things.

So here’s to a new year and new semester back at LMU! I hope that 2014 is full of happiness, good health, and great memories for all of you lovely people. As always, please follow my blog! How was your winter break? Do you have any New Year’s resolutions? Did you see any movies over the holiday break? Feel free to post the answers to a few or all of those questions in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

