A Semester in Review

It’s always a surreal feeling when I complete a semester of college and return home for break. It almost seems impossible for me to put it into words. This makes the fifth semester I have completed in my college career, and I can’t believe it. Where did the time go? This semester seems to have flown by, and has been one of my most challenging semesters at LMU thus far, but it has also been one of the most exciting.

Interestingly enough, I actually didn’t think I would be able to go back to school this semester. I had some severe health problems over the summer, and I was convinced that they would keep me from returning to LMU. I was heartbroken, I had made it halfway through college and I wasn’t about to allow this minor setback deter me from reaching my dreams. Luckily, I am very stubborn, and I persevered and conquered my pain! (Sometimes being stubborn does have its benefits).

The semester started off great! I had finished up my general education requirements my sophomore year, and I was finally in mostly major-specific courses. I was ecstatic! I had Ichthyology (the study of fish) and Applied Ecology: Management of Game Birds. Both of these classes offered me so many unforgettable opportunities, as well as valuable field experience. In fact, if you want to know more details about either of these classes, I wrote blog posts about each of them. Just click here (for Ichthyology) or here (for Management of Game Birds).

Prob and Stats studying = coffee and music

In addition to my wildlife classes, I also had a few prerequisite classes as well. These classes were Molecular Genetics and Probability and Statistics. These two classes combined were two of the most challenging courses I have taken at the university. My study skills were certainly put to the test, and let’s just say I consumed more than my fair share of coffee this semester.

My flashcards from this semester.

Most people wouldn’t be excited about the necessity of studying more often, but I loved it. This semester really tested me in a good way. For example, there were many weeks that I had multiple exams on the same day. Naturally, this stressed me out, but all it took was some time management and I was more than prepared for my exams. Whether or not I enjoyed it, having harder classes is something that simply has to happen in college. These classes don’t have to be hard, though. If you really dedicate yourself, you’ll do great, I promise. The key to college is confidence. If you believe that you can succeed, you will!

Unfortunately, this semester was also one of loss. Whiskers, my cat of 17 years passed away in November. This was a hard loss for me, as I had practically grown up with him. He was like family, and it just doesn’t seem the same around my house without him. I miss him everyday, and it was very hard focus on school when my parents told me, but I knew I had to.

My Great-Aunt also passed away this year. She was such a lovely lady and it was very hard to lose her. She was one of the strongest and most talented people I know. She may have lost her battle with cancer, but she is in a much better place now, and I can’t wait to see her again some day.

Me Receiving my Cords at the Alpha Chi Induction

Although challenging, this semester definitely paid off. On Friday, December 13, I got inducted into the Tennessee Epsilon chapter of Alpha Chi! This is an academic organization that students become eligible for their junior year. For students to be invited to Alpha Chi they be in the top 10% of all juniors, seniors, and graduate students at their respective universities. It was an honor to be inducted, and I am glad to be a part of such a prestigious organization.

One of the most awesome opportunities I was able to experience this semester was becoming a student blogger! I have absolutely loved this job so far. I’ve been able to reach out to so many people as a representative of the university! It’s amazing to know that so many people, like yourself, read my blog and want to know what’s going on at LMU….through MY eyes! I still can’t bring myself to believe it, either.

As always, feel free to follow my blog, and tell me in the comments below what your semester or year was like! I hope all of you have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

